Raw Sliders

These are just so darn cute and so darn tasty.

I’m not very good with spices and seasonings, that’s why I consider myself more of a baker than a cook. I got into cooking after I became vegan and especially after I became raw. I can make raw dressings and appetizers and vegetable dishes all day long, but if I tried to make a meatloaf I’d be lost. Baking spices are easy for me – ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg. That’s where my comfort zone is.

Since I don’t have a very good sense of seasonings, I just went with salt (from the coconut aminos) and pepper, but if you want to add additional seasonings go for it. When I go crazy with seasonings I usually regret it. I’ve learned to keep things simple. Some may call it boring, but I know I will like it that way.

Raw Sliders

6 large white mushrooms

2 small tomatoes

20-25 spinach leaves

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp coconut aminos (or soy sauce/tamari/nama shoyu)

1/2 tsp lemon juice

Pinch of pepper

  1. Slice the mushrooms horizontally to create two bun-shaped halves. Slice the tomatoes into 6 thick slices.
  2. Whisk together the olive oil, coconut aminos, lemon juice, and pepper.
  3. Dip the mushrooms and tomato slices into the sauce, coating all the sides thoroughly.
  4. Lay them out on a lined dehydrator tray, and dehydrate for 2 hours at 115 degrees. This would probably work in the oven as well at its lowest temperature for about one hour.
  5. Remove from the dehydrator. Place a tomato slice onto the bottom half of each mushroom, top with a few spinach leaves and the top mushroom…toothpick optional.

Leave a Reply

