Fig Chia Cookies

This Fig Chia Cookie recipe has been staring me in the face and begging me to post it on the blog for a while. This was my first go to snack recipe when I started experimenting with raw food. This was also the first recipe that caused my Vitamix to overheat. I completely panicked, sure I had broken the thing, but it came back to life about an hour later (phew!). So I suggest a food processor for this one.

The figs on the tree in my yard are just beginning to ripen, so I’ve been enjoying a freshly picked fig or two each day (if I beat the squirrels). So with figs on my mind, I finally decided to post this recipe.

Only 3 ingredients! These cookies are a cinch to make. The combination of cinnamon and fig is one of my favorites, but the recipe is really versatile. In the past I’ve added all sorts of things to this recipe: shredded coconut, ginger, vanilla, cacao powder, raisins…

LFRV option: If you want to make these fat-free, then just leave out the chia seeds altogether. I add them for texture, crunch, and a little binding power, but you can still make scrumptious figgy cookies without them.

Fig Chia Cookies

Makes 8-10

2 cups dried figs (remove the hard stems)

2 tbsps chia seeds + more for sprinkling on top

3/4 tsp cinnamon

  1. Combine the dried figs, chia seeds, and cinnamon in a food processor. Process until it starts to clump together.
  2. Roll the dough into balls and flatten into cookies.
  3. Sprinkle the tops with chia seeds.
  4. Refrigerate for about an hour.
  5. Store in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

