Caramelized Plums

My dehydrator has been feeling a bit neglected lately. This recipe is fresh fruit meets dehydrator meets rich caramel decadence. Oh, and don’t forget the hint of orange.

The 80/10/10, high-carb, low-fat lifestyle includes very little fat. My recipes have veered in the low-fat direction along with my diet, so I haven’t used nuts in a very long time. I have fallen into a routine of eating lots of fruit, starches, and some veggies. A few days ago, I realized that low-fat had unintentionally become no fat. I wasn’t missing it, but the body still needs a little bit of fat to function. To remedy that, I have an avocado ripening in my kitchen, and I added a sprinkling of chopped pecans to this fruity recipe.

Nut-free alternatives: These plums are just begging for a sprinkling of something on top. If you want a nut-free alternative, then I suggest mulberries or raisins or even the sand from my Ocean Cups.

Caramelized Plums

4 plums

2 tbsps coconut sugar

1/2 tsp orange zest

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp chopped nuts (optional)

Sauce

1 banana

1 tbsp orange juice

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp orange zest

  1. Slice the plums in half. Remove the pits.
  2. Stir together the coconut sugar, cinnamon, and orange zest with a fork.
  3. Dip the cut side of each plum into the coconut sugar mixture.
  4. Dehydrate sugared side up for 2 hours at 115 degrees.
  5. Blend all the ingredients for the sauce together until smooth.
  6. Drizzle the sauce on the caramelized plums, and sprinkle with nuts.

Leave a Reply

