Berry-Dyed Bran Cookies • soft + color-stained + fiber

Yes, more cookies because it’s just a two cookie recipes kind of week.

I consider myself a fairly intelligent person, but these cookies really made a fool out of me.

I was mixing up the dry ingredients–flour, wheat bran, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder–or so I thought. But the baking powder had been replaced by a white powdery imposter: cornstarch. I grabbed the wrong container by accident! The two containers are not the same height or color or anything, so I have no good excuse. Still clueless, I just popped the little them in the oven.

Those little dollops of dough did not move. No rise, no spread, no nothing! They just sat there as nubbly little blobs.

I was so bummed about my rock cookies that I didn’t even remember to snap a picture of my baking fail, but I did snap many pictures of this perfect redo batch.

Bran is not just for muffins! Bran muffins are one of my favorite fiber-packed snacks. So why not give cookies an extra boost of extra fiber too? Snack on a couple of these guys and you’ll be getting 6 grams of healthy fiber hidden amidst sweet berry-flecked flavor.

I can’t get enough of these cookies. Every time I run out, I find myself whipping up another batch. They’re my staple cookies at the moment…because everyone needs a staple cookie on hand at all times.

I had a little cookie stacking fun…

Delicious and durable!

Berry Bran Cookies

Makes 14-16 cookies

1 cup wheat bran

1 cup whole wheat flour

2/3 cup coconut sugar (or any granulated sweetener)

2/3 cup applesauce

½ cup non-dairy milk

½ tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp baking powder

1/3 cup each of frozen blueberries and raspberries

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the wheat bran, flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and sugar.
  3. Add the applesauce and milk. Stir until everything is combined.
  4. Add the frozen berries and fold them in.
  5. Drop large spoonfuls onto a lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

