Everything-Free Vanilla Cupcakes

I’ve done it. I’ve taken my beloved Everything-Free Chocolate Cupcakes and un-chocolated them. I’ve made Everything-Free Vanilla Cupcakes. I have a feeling this is just the beginning of a beautiful chronicle of everything-free cupcakes.

Straight from Seuss! Purple foods make me so happy. They look like they belong in a Dr. Seuss book alongside Sneetches and Wockets and Sam-I-Am. The color is story-time stunning thanks to the magic of anthocyanins in the purple sweet potato.

These fun-as-fiction potatoes are pretty easy to find, especially at Asian markets. The flavor and texture is great, and I just can’t get over that vibrant purple color. They kind of make the orange ones seem boring, but don’t tell them I said that.

That frosting! If I told you that this frosting perfectly mimicked buttercream I’d be lying. It’s not lighter than air, fluffier than a cloud, or sweeter than sugar. But I did just make frosting from a potato. A purple potato. A purple potato that was once underground surrounded by roots and dirt and critters. And it happens to be more beautiful than any frosting I ever made with vegan butter and confectioner’s sugar and food coloring.

That’s the beauty of working with natural, unrefined ingredients. Nothing is perfect and nothing has to be. It just has to taste good. And this frosting tastes very, very good.

If you don’t want frosting the color of a Heffalump, then try topping the cupcakes with my chocolate frosting instead. Vanilla + chocolate is always a winner.

Everything-Free Vanilla Cupcakes

Makes 6

1 cup pitted medjool dates

1 cup water

1 1/4 cup oat flour (or all-purpose/whole wheat)

1 tbsp baking powder

2 tsps vanilla extract

1/4 cup non-dairy milk

Purple Sweet Potato Frosting

1 purple sweet potato

1/2-3/4 cup non-dairy milk

1/4 cup maple syrup

  1. FOR THE CUPCAKES: preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. In a food processor, combine the dates and water. Process to form a date paste.
  3. Add the vanilla, baking powder, flour, and non-dairy milk. Process to combine.
  4. *If you don’t have a food processor, you could blend the dates, water, and non-dairy milk in a blender and mix it with the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  5. Spoon the batter into 6 lined or oiled muffin tins. Fill them 3/4 of the way, and smooth the tops.
  6. Bake at 350F for approximately 22 minutes.
  7. Remove from the pan and let them cool completely.
  8. FOR THE FROSTING: Bake the sweet potato until soft. Remove the peel.
  9. Add the potato flesh, maple syrup, and 1/2 cup of non-dairy milk to a blender. Blend on high until smooth, adding just enough milk to make it blend (the amount will depend on the size of your sweet potato. You may need to use the tamper to keep it moving.
  10. Once the cupcakes are cool, frost them.
  11. Store frosted cupcakes in an airtight container.

NOTE: These cupcakes are not overly sweet. They are perfect when complimented with a creamy frosting, but if you want a sweeter cake to eat plain then I suggest adding 1/4 cup of coconut sugar.


What’s you’re favorite Dr. Seuss story?

10 thoughts on “Everything-Free Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. Oh my… the frosting looks soooo goood! I’ve never had purple sweet potatoes. Now I’m definitely on the lookout for these beauties. Beautiful photos 🙂 Pinned ^.^

    Like

    1. I only tried them for the first time recently, but they’re pretty incredible. Not too hard to find around here either. Thanks girl ❤

      Like

    1. Thanks Melissa! The Lorax is a classic, and so many of his books have important messages hidden behind the silliness and rhymes. My favorite would probably be Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are. I remember being obsessed with that book as a kid 😀

      Like

    1. Yeah it’s not the most conventional use of a purple sweet potato, but my mind just thinks in desserts not dinners. I can’t get over the color either!

      Like

Leave a Reply

